web analytics

WIT President’s Scholarship recipients

Wexford, Waterford and Tipperary students announced as WIT President’s Scholarship recipients

Each year up to five exceptional undergraduate students are awarded scholarships worth up to €12,000 (€2,000 per year of study and €500 per semester)

The 2018/2019 recipients of the Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT) President’s Scholarship programme were recognised at ceremony recently. This year the recipients are from counties Waterford, Tipperary, and Wexford. In attendance at the event were Heads of Schools at WIT, course leaders, families, and representatives from the students’ former schools.

Two of the students are past pupils of Waterpark College in Waterford; one is a past pupil of St Mary’s, New Ross, Co Wexford, and another a past pupil of St Mary’s, Nenagh, Co Tipperary. (Full bios in notes for editors).

The scholarship scheme, which had its first cohort in 2016, encourages and rewards young people who show a capacity to shape a better society. The closing date for entries for 2019/2020 has been extended to 1 April and is open to CAO applicants.

The President’s Scholarship programme had sought applications from individuals who with attributes such as being creative, innovators, leaders, or people who make significant contributions to community.

The 2018 President’s Scholars are:

School of Business – Leon Keating, Bachelor of Business Studies (Hons)

School of Engineering – Neil Quinn, Bachelor of Architecture (Hons)

School of Health Sciences – Olivia Cusack, BSc (Hons) Intellectual Disability Nursing

School of Humanities – Aoife Molloy, BA (Hons) Arts

Addressing the scholarship recipients, WIT President, Prof Willie Donnelly said: “This is our fourth year offering the President’s Scholarship. It was established as a statement of the Institute’s commitment to recognising students’ contribution to their environment and community. We see it as a statement of our commitment to ensuring that their educational experience at WIT is not defined by their CAO points but rather about enabling each student to reach their academic goal. The breadth of initiative shown by scholarship students has been across community, volunteering, innovation and creative spheres. This year we are looking forward to contributing to the educational journeys of five more promising leaders.”

Each year up to five exceptional undergraduate students are awarded scholarships with a total value of up to €12,000. Each President’s Scholar receives an annual bursary of €2,000 per year of study along with €500 per semester. President’s Scholars will also be part of the Student Ambassador programme for the duration of their studies, representing the college and the Academic School in which they study.

The application process has four stages. People cannot apply for the scholarship unless they have applied to the CAO and have chosen a WIT course.

People can make a CAO application by Thursday, 1 February 2019 (5.15pm), choosing the WIT course preference and apply for the WIT President’s Scholarship before Monday, 1 April 2019 using the online form on www.wit.ie/caoscholarship. People who have already applied to the CAO and have not listed WIT cannot apply at this stage for the scholarship. For those who did not apply to the CAO at all before 1 February, the CAO late application facility opened on 5 March at noon for a fee of €60 for online applications.

For more details see www.wit.ie/CAOscholarship.

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com

Learn something fresh and new every day!


Click here to Sign up for the Newsletter