Courses in IICP College

Information on upcoming courses

You are here:
  • Main
  • Counselling
  • Certificate in Counselling and Psychotherapeutic Studies
< All Topics

IICP Certificate in Counselling and Psychotherapeutic StudiesIICP

 

Remote/Blended Learning options available

Autumn 2020

Due to the current government-issued social distancing requirements, our college has been successfully transformed into a remote/blended learning community for programme delivery. Irrespective of the format, the delivery remains on the cutting edge of best practice in counselling and psychotherapy education and training.

 

Introduction

Our Certificate Programme is the perfect entry point for those considering a career in counselling and psychotherapy as it contains an excellent mix of theory, skills and personal development. All IICP teaching staff are therapy practitioners, which means they put their teaching into a real-world context.

Programme Aims

Upon completion, learners should be able to:

  1. Demonstrate broad elementary knowledge of two main therapy approaches; Person Centred Therapy and Choice Theory/Reality Therapy;
  2. Describe the evolution of counselling and psychotherapy from historical to contemporary perspectives;
  3. Discuss mental illness and its treatment, including modern therapeutic approaches;
  4. Identify the scope and limitations of counselling and psychotherapy;
  5. Appreciate basic ethical considerations for working with others;
  6. Describe the essential components of a therapeutic relationship;
  7. Engage in simulated practice of basic counselling practice;
  8. Apply core counselling and psychotherapeutic skills in simulated practice;
  9. Participate in reflective exercises in one-to-one and group settings;
  10. Consider the role of the self in the therapeutic relationship;
  11. Recognise the limitations of one’s own knowledge, skills and competencies; and
  12. Communicate effectively in academic and practice settings.

Entry Routes

This programme is suitable for those either working in the helping professions or interested in seeking to develop their awareness of what is involved in training as a counsellor/psychotherapist.

  • A qualification recognised at level 5 on the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ) such as the Leaving Certificate is required for entry onto this programme.
  • Those with substantial life experience can also apply under our recognition of prior learning and experience policy.

Overview

The programme consists of three introductory modules in the subjects of Counselling Theory, Counselling Skills and Personal Development. It is a highly interactive programme, delivered through a variety of teaching approaches such as lectures, group discussion, experiential work, individual exercises, and self-directed learning.

There are two methods of delivery, Option 1 is block delivery, (Friday evening class and two full teaching days on Saturday and Sunday). Option 2 is Thursday – Sunday delivery (Some Thursday Evenings & Sunday full days)Each module carries its own assessment, which is based on a continuous assessment strategy.

Student Benefits & Support

As our certificate is conferred at Level 6 on the National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ), it evidences the rigour required for a quality programme of learning. The dynamic mix of theory, skills, group work, practice and personal development ensures learners grow academically, professionally, personally and interpersonally within frameworks that are on the cutting edge of best practice.

Validation of Award

This Certificate is a Special Purpose Award validated by QQI at level 6 on the NFQ. 20 ECTS Credits

Course Dates – Block Delivery

Friday 02-October-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Saturday 03-October-2020 9.00am-5.00pm
Sunday 04-October-2020 9.00am-5.00pm
Friday 16-October-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Saturday 17-October-2020 9.00am-5.00pm
Sunday 18-October-2020 9.00am-5.00pm
Friday 13-November-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Saturday 14-November-2020 9.00am-5.00pm
Sunday 15-November-2020 9.00am-5.00pm
Friday 11-December-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Saturday 12-December-2020 9.00am-5.00pm
Sunday 13-December-2020 9.00am-5.00pm

 

Autumn – Thursday-Sunday  

 

Sunday 08-November-2020 9.30am-4.30pm
Thursday 12-November-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Sunday 22-November-2020 9.30am-4.30pm
Thursday 26-November-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 03-December-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Sunday 06-December-2020 9.30am-4.30pm
Thursday 10-January-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 17-January-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 14-January-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 21-January-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 04-February-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 11-February-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 25-February-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 04-March-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 11-March-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 25-March-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
Thursday 01-April-2020 7.00pm-10.00pm
     

Course Cost

€1300 (Including €50 QQI Fee)

To apply:

For more details or to book on line, please visit our website: www.iicp.ie/courses/certificate

or contact the IICP Office

Phone: 087 905 5330

Email: [email protected]

 

 

Triona Kearns

Director of Registry & Operations

Phone: 086 0499154

 

Marcella Finnerty

College President

Phone: 086 2609989

 

 

 

Tags:
Table of Contents